PDA

View Full Version : EDGE devices Upgradeable to 3g?


Nezzil
09-06-2007, 01:52 AM
will new devices such as the WING be able to have a software update to support the 3G network? I hope so cuz if 3g is supposed to launch soon, looking at the phones to be released, i see nothing at all about new pocket pc's. :(

Matt
09-06-2007, 02:54 AM
No. It's not software.

christyxcore
09-06-2007, 03:26 AM
Nope!

3219856

greenblood
09-06-2007, 05:58 AM
will new devices such as the WING be able to have a software update to support the 3G network? I hope so cuz if 3g is supposed to launch soon, looking at the phones to be released, i see nothing at all about new pocket pc's. :(

no, it's hardware related
however, you can buy AWS 3G phone, and tether with Wing

kinjutsu11
09-06-2007, 06:08 AM
will new devices such as the WING be able to have a software update to support the 3G network? I hope so cuz if 3g is supposed to launch soon, looking at the phones to be released, i see nothing at all about new pocket pc's. :(

Until the network is ready or close to roll out, we won't see more 3G devices pop up other than the t639 and 6263. As we get closer to launch, we'll see more 3G devices, and you can bet there will be Windows Mobile Professional (PocketPC) and Standard (Smartphone) devices available.

PortPowerKS
09-06-2007, 08:04 PM
Stupid Question Alert

I've viewed sometimes that my Nokia N90 has options that make it appear that it could use 3G. If we have a phone with a similar situation that isn't available from T-Mo (since this phone was sold exclusively through Ritz Camera, Kit's Camera, Wolf Camera in 2006 for use with T-Mo), is it possible it could be used on T3?

kinjutsu11
09-06-2007, 08:32 PM
Stupid Question Alert

I've viewed sometimes that my Nokia N90 has options that make it appear that it could use 3G. If we have a phone with a similar situation that isn't available from T-Mo (since this phone was sold exclusively through Ritz Camera, Kit's Camera, Wolf Camera in 2006 for use with T-Mo), is it possible it could be used on T3?

T3, haha, it looks like greenbloods little term is spreading!

And it's not a dumb question, more people will ask this as 3G gets closer, you'll see, ;).
But the n90 does have 3G, just not on the right frequency T-Mobile will launch their 3G on which is the 1700Mhz band. The n90 is 3G 2100Mhz. If you could find a phone that ran on the 1700Mhz band then yes, you could use 3G, but it's an American only 3G band, so devices will more than likely being coming out of the carrier more than the manufacturers, at least for a while.
Hope that answers your question!

greenblood
09-06-2007, 10:10 PM
will new devices such as the WING be able to have a software update to support the 3G network? I hope so cuz if 3g is supposed to launch soon, looking at the phones to be released, i see nothing at all about new pocket pc's. :(

no, you can't
EDGE is 2.75G, and UMTS requires hardware support
however, if 2G part of 3G phone has EDGE, you still can use EDGE, but EDGE phone is still 2G phone after all

PortPowerKS
09-08-2007, 12:37 PM
T3, haha, it looks like greenbloods little term is spreading!

And it's not a dumb question, more people will ask this as 3G gets closer, you'll see, ;).
But the n90 does have 3G, just not on the right frequency T-Mobile will launch their 3G on which is the 1700Mhz band. The n90 is 3G 2100Mhz. If you could find a phone that ran on the 1700Mhz band then yes, you could use 3G, but it's an American only 3G band, so devices will more than likely being coming out of the carrier more than the manufacturers, at least for a while.
Hope that answers your question!

Looks like I will have to start looking then. Not like I could find a place to unlock my N90 anyhow.. Ah well. Ta for the help!

greenblood
09-08-2007, 04:53 PM
Stupid Question Alert

I've viewed sometimes that my Nokia N90 has options that make it appear that it could use 3G. If we have a phone with a similar situation that isn't available from T-Mo (since this phone was sold exclusively through Ritz Camera, Kit's Camera, Wolf Camera in 2006 for use with T-Mo), is it possible it could be used on T3?

no, you can't
N90 has 2G 900/1800/1900; 3G 1900+2100, no AWS support

kinjutsu11
09-08-2007, 05:05 PM
T3, haha, it looks like greenbloods little term is spreading!

And it's not a dumb question, more people will ask this as 3G gets closer, you'll see, ;).
But the n90 does have 3G, just not on the right frequency T-Mobile will launch their 3G on which is the 1700Mhz band. The n90 is 3G 2100Mhz. If you could find a phone that ran on the 1700Mhz band then yes, you could use 3G, but it's an American only 3G band, so devices will more than likely being coming out of the carrier more than the manufacturers, at least for a while.
Hope that answers your question!

Looks like I will have to start looking then. Not like I could find a place to unlock my N90 anyhow.. Ah well. Ta for the help!

no, you can't
N90 has 2G 900/1800/1900; 3G 1900+2100, no AWS support

I think i might have beat you to it greenblood! lol

greenblood
09-08-2007, 09:01 PM
T639 will be short-lived phone for me (up to 6 months), will see what T-Mobile will offer then (I wish there'll have Z750 or N73, if 6500 slider has AWS 3G, I'll take it)

Galvatron
09-09-2007, 02:27 AM
yeah you can't just tweak radio frequencies on your device ithe radio an cranceiver chips ar a hardware issue att's HSDPA is 850mhz

g_patrick89
09-09-2007, 10:00 AM
Definately not possible. would be great if it was, but unfortunately it isnt possible

Galvatron
09-10-2007, 04:27 AM
he a tuner GSM radio I want a decice were ou can custom build your phone
vnvidia chaip her better lcd screen there
this type of chasis ect> nobody has done that